Flagey Russian Festival

Flagey (BE) Studio 4

Orchestra: Orchestre Philharmonique Royale de Liège
Conductor: Christian Arming
Program: P.I Tchaikovsky:Rococo Variations

Rubinstein, for whom Tchaikovsky composed the Piano Concerto No. 1, described it as “bad, vulgar, except for two or three pages”. Ironically, this piece is nowadays considered the most “Russian” concerto, in its fervor and its magnitude which will be demonstrated with the help of pianist Pavel Kolsenikov. Tchaikovsky also composed the Rococo Variations as a tribute to Mozart, whom he revered since his childhood. This piece, famous for its technical difficulties, will be interpreted by Astrig Siranossian.

Event Website